Colorado Marijuana Laws and regulations

Colorado Marijuana Laws 2021

Looking for more information regarding cannabis consumer laws in Colorado? We have compiled some of the more important cannabis consumer laws and regulations in 2021.

How old do I need to be to purchase posses and consume recreational cannabis?

21 years of age and with valid government issued ID.

Where can I purchase recreational cannabis in Colorado?

You can purchase recreational cannabis at any licensed cannabis dispensary. You must provide valid government issued ID when entering the dispensary.

Where can I consume or smoke marijuana?

Recreational cannabis is intended to be consumed within a private establishment. Public cannabis use is not prohibited and can result in fines/tickets.

How much cannabis can I possess in Colorado?

Adults 21 years of age or older can possess up to 1 ounce (28 Grams) of marijuana.

How many edibles can I buy in Colorado?

Adults 21 years of age or older can purchase up to 8 (100mg) edibles a day.

How many grams of concentrate can I buy in Colorado?

Adults 21 years of age or older can purchase up to 8 grams of cannabis concentrates a day.

Can I get a DUI for driving under the influence of Marijuana?

Yes. It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana. Anyone with 5 nanograms of THC per milliliter in whole blood (CRS 42-4-1301) while driving can be arrested for DUI. Please consume responsibly.

Can I smoke cannabis in a hotel room?

Hotel operators will have different policies in regards to smoking. We encourage you to ask the hotel prior to booking your room to confirm if you can consume marijuana or not.

Is it legal to grow marijuana at home in Colorado?

Yes. Adult residents can grow up to 6 cannabis plants per person. No more than 12 total plants are allowed per residence regardless of the number of adults living there. Cannabis plants must be kept in an enclosed and locked area.